Happy New Year!!!

Posted on 2012 January 1 Sunday

4


Calvin & Hobbes Panel - Credit to Bill Watterson

Happy New Year!!!

Ok, I wrote that on New Year’s Eve, actually, but I thought I would try to continue my ‘planned’ schedule, so here is my article for New Year’s Day…

No, I’m not going to regale you with my NY’s resolutions. First of all, I usually don’t make them. Over the past 40+ years (Ok, probably closer to upper 20-30+, since I doubt I was making ‘resolutions’ as a child, at least that I remember) I’ve determined that the date of a ‘resolution’ to make a change is immaterial. Either you make a change and you follow it through or you don’t. When that change is started really doesn’t matter, in the long run. As long as it is a good one for you, then start it when you will. And I know that I am not alone. Google the statistics on the number of gym/fitness club memberships started in January and then the number of renewals the following couple of months. Either people get amazingly healthy and in shape in a short amount of time or they become ‘lapsed gym members’, sort of like lapsed Catholics or Holiday Church members. The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak, or maybe the motivation peters out after the pain sets in. Think there is a connection there. Anyway, I also really don’t think you could care if I intend to lose weight (I’d like to) or get in better shape (although round is a shape) or any other personal habits I am going to improve or goals I am setting myself or how in 2012 I am going to become better and improved. I hope I do and try to make those improvements daily. But really, it makes for rather boring reading and is rather narcissistic in my opinion.

I also don’t really want to try and do a ‘2011: A Year In Review’ top ten or 11 or worst or best stuff. You can find innumerable articles on that in the newspapers and other media. Personally, while I have and do reflect on the past year at it’s end, doing ‘rememberies’ seems blasé  and overdone. Also, I undoubtedly would forget something writing this a few hours before I intend to publish it and would have been better served if I had planned it out and started writing an article like that earlier this week, if not this month. So, I’m afraid, that if that is your desired reading material, you’ll have to search elsewhere.

So, what I think I will do is start this year off with a list of favorite quotes and ideas and a few pictures. Some I’ve recently discovered, others are oldies but goodies, but all strike a chord in me. You’ll possibly recognize some of the names and some of the quotes. Some are very famous people, some not so much. But, they are all quotes important to me. This list has no particular order, rhyme, or reason.  So I’ll start off this year with these. I hope you enjoy them.

“Each morning we are born again. What we do today is what matters most.” – Buddha

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.” – Mahatma Gandhi

“Open your arms to change, but don’t let go of your values.” – Dalai Lama

Good Advice - Follow As Needed

“True religion is real living; living with all one’s soul, with all one’s goodness and righteousness.” – Albert Einstein

‎”There comes a time when you have to stand up and shout: This is me damn it! I look the way I look, think the way I think, feel the way I feel, love the way I love! I am a whole complex package. Take me… or leave me. Accept me – or walk away! Do not try to make me feel like less of a person, just because I don’t fit your idea of who I should be and don’t try to change me to fit your mold. If I need to change, I alone will make that decision. When you are strong enough to love yourself 100%, good and bad – you will be amazed at the opportunities that life presents you.” -Stacey Charter

“Happiness comes of the capacity to feel deeply, to enjoy simply, to think freely, to risk life, to be needed.” – Storm Jameson

“If you obey all the rules, you’ll miss all the fun.” – Katherine Hepburn

“The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.” – Ayn Rand

“I believe one of the most important priorities is to do whatever we do as well as we can.” – Victor Kermit Kiam

“Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.” – Mahatma Gandhi

“Forgive yourself for your faults and your mistakes and move on.” – Les Brown

“Do not wait for leaders; do it alone, person to person.” – Mother Teresa

Take what you need and Give what you have

“All glory comes from daring to begin.” – William Shakespeare

“Take a deep breath, count to ten, and tackle each task one step at a time.” – Linda Shalaway

“You have to believe in yourself.” – Sun Tzu

“A man is but the product of his thoughts, what he thinks, he becomes.” – Mahatma Gandhi

“Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don’t be sorry.” ― Jack Kerouac

“How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.” -Wayne Dyer

“Kindness gives birth to kindness.” – Sophocles

“What it lies in our power to do, it lies in our power not to do.” – Aristotle

“Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.” – Lao Tzu

“Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish on it’s ability to climb a tree, it will live it’s whole life believing it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” – J.K. Rowling

“Man is what he believes.” – Anton Chekhov

“Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They invent. They imagine. They heal. They explore. They create. They inspire. They push the human race forward. Maybe they have to be crazy. How else can you stare at an empty canvas and see a work of art? Or sit in silence and hear a song that’s never been written? Or gaze at a red planet and see a laboratory on wheels? … While some see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.” – attributed to Steve Jobs

“I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious.” – Albert Einstein

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.”  – Shel Silverstein

I had to stop myself with the quotes and the pictures. I am a pack rat with these things. The most important thing I hope you take away from this is actually two. Firstly, if any of these quotes make sense to you, impact you in some way, don’t just parrot them. Give them life and breathe through your own thoughts, words, and deeds. Secondly, I hope everyone who reads this has a most blessed New Year. To paraphrase an old Irish toast, May the year that comes find you healthy, wealthy and wise and may the best of your past year be the worst of your future days.

